top of page

Tofu Masala Fry

Updated: Aug 15, 2020

Tofu, also known as bean curd, is a food prepared by coagulating soy milk and then pressing the resulting curds. It is naturally gluten-free and low in calories. It contains no cholesterol and is an excellent source of iron and calcium. Tofu is a good alternate to Paneer.


I remember the first time I tried tofu. It was a tofu wrap with some mayonnaise and veggies and I honestly couldn’t finish it. Myself being a foodie I hate wasting food. So tofu was never my favorite.


However, it all changed when I visited my husband in Canada. As he was living there by himself he learned to cook food. And that is when I realized how lucky I was to be married to him. On the first day of my visit to Canada, my husband prepared a Tofu masala fry Indian style with just 3 spices and I still can not forget the taste. It was so delicious that I learned it from him and started experimenting with the same. And that is when my view of Tofu changed forever.



So let’s start cooking the delicious Tofu masala fry.


Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 25 minutes

Total Time: 30 minutes

Category: Side Dish / Main Course


Ingredients:


250 gms Tofu

1 large finely chopped onion

2 green chilies

2 tbsp coriander leaves

½ tsp turmeric

1 tsp coriander powder

1 tsp Kitchen King masala

1 tbsp olive oil or as needed

Salt to taste


How to cook:


1- Heat oil in a wide pan add finely chopped onion and green chilies.

2- Fry it for 1 min and then add a pinch of salt and fry until the onion changes its color.

3- Then add turmeric powder, coriander powder, and Kitchen King masala saute until the masala smells good.

4- Add Tofu after 3-4 minutes. Gently mix and cook covered for 2-4 minutes on a low flame. This step makes the Tofu flavorful.

5- Add finely chopped coriander leaves.

6- Serve Tofu masala fry with roti, rice, or bread.


10 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page